How to block user/contact in Telegram App

Whatsapp messenger is not the only application whose customer base is growing. Infact people are looking for alternatives and a better messaging application. What’s being termed as the number one choice for Whatsapp alternative is Telegram messaging app. People from various parts of world (specially in Europe and India) are now trying this new app named “Telegram“. The mains reasons are it is open source, accessible from multiple devices, more secure, allows to share large files and offers more than 200 people in group chat. In short Telegram Messenger is getting popular.

With the increasing popularity what happens is that lot of unwanted people turn up joining them. People from your contact list join the app (whom you don’t want to remain in contact with) and they start bothering you by sending messages. A lot of times happens is that you want to block some users and just don’t want to receive/send messages to them. You don’t want to remain in contact with your ex and somehow stop her from sending messages to you on Telegram.

What you can do is “Block a contact or a user on Telegram“. This article will demonstrate this!

  • Blocked contact won’t be able to send message to you

What if you blocked someone accidentally and now want to unblock them. This article also covers how you can check complete list of blocked contacts and unblock a particular user.

Blocking a contact

Step1: Say you are chatting with a friend. Click the contact icon (profile image) at top right corner.

Telegram Block User 1

Step2: Now in the contact info, again click the settings dots button at top right. Click Block!

Telegram Block User 2

Unblocking a contact

Step1 : Checking list of blocked user > Go to settings by clicking top right in main screen of telegram

Telegram Block User 3

Step2: In settings select “Blocked Users”.

Telegram List of Blocked Users

Step3: This lists all blocked users. To unblock “Tap and hold” and then click Unblock.

Telegram How to unblock user

Telegram unblock a user

Alternate Way -: Block any contact on Telegram Messenger for Android/iPhone

To block more people (alternative way). Click the “+” button at top right in blocked people list. Contact list will open up > Add the contact you want to block.

Telegram block a user from contacts      Telegram select a contact to block

If you face any issue in blocking or unblocking any contact or any other problem, let us know in the comment section. We will be more than happy to help you out!


    • says

      U don’t and that’s a good thing I guess. Anyhow I will still check if there is any not so straightforward method to know this.

    • says

      I tried searching for more information on this. As the Telegram app is quite similar to Whatsapp in many ways. So this “how do you know you have been blocked” holds true for Telegram as well.
      Here’s the answer (copied and modified from Whatsapp forum) :
      There are a couple of indicators that you may be blocked by one or more of your Telegram contacts:

      1. You can no longer see this contact’s “last seen at..” or “online” status in the chat window.
      2. You do not see updates to that contact’s profile picture.
      3. Most easiest way : Any messages sent to a contact who has blocked you will always show one check mark (message sent), and never show a second check mark (message delivered).

      If you see both of these indicators for a contact, this could mean they are blocking you.

      However, there are other possibilities. This has been intentionally made ambiguous in order to protect your privacy when you block someone. Thus, we cannot tell you if you are being blocked by someone else, since this is a violation of that person’s privacy.

      Another method: Try starting a secret chat with him/her when you know the other person is online. If other person has blocked you, then you won’t be able to start secret chat with him.

      I guess with above points, you should be easily able to figure out if someone has blocked you or not.

  1. ghost says

    i need help! i accidentally sent a text, then i blocked them. can they still receive those texts that i sent before i blocked them?

  2. says

    If I blocked someone but now no longer in my contact list so by mistake I send a secret chat request even thought there already blocked could they still have Recieved the request from that number please reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *