Though Viber is one of top communications apps offering free calls to other users, however there could be many reasons you may want to deactivate and delete your Viber account. Please note that deactivating your Viber account or deleting the account is different from just uninstalling the Viber app. Moreover the process varies if you are using Viber on your mobile or if you are using Viber on your computer. This article will describes all the aspects of Viber deactivation aka account deletion.
“Unintsall Viber” Vs “Viber Deactivation”
Just uninstalling the Viber application from your mobile phone (account remains active for 45 days) – Your contact list data will be removed from Viber servers. However you are still present on Viber (people will still see you on Viber).
One year of inactivity – Viber will delete/deactivate your account automatically. However, the problem is that during this one year people will still see on Viber. They may try to contact you in between but since you are no more using Viber so that’s a problem.
If you want to remove the Viber completely and want that your contacts don’t see on your Viber then you need to deactivate your account. How, read on!
What is Viber account deactivation. What happens when I deactivate my account?
Deactivating your account will erase everything associated with your Viber ID, including your call and message history, groups and downloaded stickers (both free and purchased). It will also unlink all other accounts linked to your Viber account (e.g. Twitter, Facebook). Once an account is deactivated, there is no way to restore any of its information. Re-registering to Viber with the same Viber ID (phone number) will not restore the previous account history.
Viber Out credits will not be lost if your account is deactivated. Please note that all your Viber Out credits are linked with your phone number.
- Please note that if you deactivate your account from Mobile (and NOT computer), then all your data will be removed from Viber. Moreover Viber will get deactivated from from all of your devices. You should create a backup file of your message history before deactivating.
- Deactivating your desktop account will remove all of your data from Viber and deactivate Viber from your desktop only. Viber will remain active on any other device(s) on which the application is installed.
App already uninstalled – How to delete now ?
Deactivation can only take place within the application. If you have uninstalled Viber and would like to deactivate your account, you will need to re-install Viber in order to do so.
Moving to new phone number ?
Your Viber ID is your phone number. Everything related to your account is linked with your Viber ID. If you have a new phone number and have not yet deactivated your old account, you should do so. Leaving the old account active gives whoever receives your old phone number access to your account. You should register your new phone number as your new Viber ID.
Please note that Viber Out credit is linked to your Viber ID. So its better to use all your credits before switching to new account.
Moving to new phone with same number
You may re-install Viber on your new device using the old device’s phone number. This will reinstate the previous account on your new device.
How to delete Viber on Mobile Phone
- Open Viber
- Enter the More Options menu
- Select Settings
- Select Privacy
- Select Deactivate Account
How to delete Viber just on computer – still remain active on Mobile
- Open Viber
- Click the gear icon at the bottom left of the screen
- Click Account
- Select Deactivate Viber
- If you are sure that you would like to deactivate the account, select Deactivate
Below are some more questions related to Viber account deactivation.
Q. Phone got stolen ? What to do.
A. Most probably the person who has stolen your phone will format the phone completely and use a new number.
- Make sure you block your phone number and the old sim don’t work
- Get a new sim with same number
- Reinstall Viber on your new device using the old device’s phone number. This will reinstate the previous account on your new device.
- Save history and take a backup
- Now deactivate your account – this will delete everything from your old phone as well
- Now register again with Viber on your new phone
Q. If I delete viber from my iphone then will the viber on my pc will also be gone. And can I have two viber accounts on one phone ?
A. Because Viber is a phone application, deleting Viber off of your phone will deactivate all Viber accounts associated with your phone number. However, if you delete Viber for Desktop, it will not delete Viber off of your phone.
Q. How to save message history – upgrading to new version.
A. Messages may be deleted with a version upgrade. This is not related to a device. To back up your message history, please do the following:
- Select Options
- Select More options
- Select Settings
- Select Email message history